Spread Girl Love…

To see a different perspective in this world, adjust your attitude on yourself.

I was born to Vernita Lee and Vernon Winfrey in an isolated farm in Kosciusko, Mississippi, on January 29, 1954. My parents were unmarried and separated soon after my birth, and I lived with my maternal grand mom. She was very strict but it turned out to do good for me because I learnt to read by two and half years old. I addressed a church congregation on Easter when I was two years. I didn’t want to be in kindergarten, so I wrote a note to the teacher saying that I’m supposed to be in 1st grade. I guess I did well because they promoted me to 3rd grade afterwards.

When I was six years, I had to go live with my mother in Milwaukee ghetto, an extremely poor and dangerous neighbourhood. This is when I had some horrible experiences. I went through sexual abuse which I didn’t even know was happening to me. My mother didn’t have time to notice. It was done by people trusted by my mother and it was very traumatic. Then I went to live with my father in Nashville. He was very concerned about me and made me a better person. I went on for days without meals because I wasn’t doing my studies well. And with his commitment and my effort I was successful in my academics. I started talking at social gatherings and churches where I got payed $500 per speech. This is when I knew I wanted to be payed for talking.

My father saved my life. I became an excellent student, participating in the drama club, debate club, and student council. In an Elks Club speaking contest, I won a full scholarship to Tennessee State University. The following year I was invited to a White House Conference on Youth. I was crowned Miss Fire Prevention by WVOL, a local Nashville radio station, and was hired by the station to read afternoon newscasts. I became Miss Black Nashville and Miss Tennessee during the freshman year at Tennessee State. The Nashville Columbia Broadcasting System (CBS) affiliate offered me a job; I turned it down twice, but finally took the advice of my speech teacher, who reminded me that job offers from CBS were “the reason people go to college.” The show was seen each evening on WTVF-TV, and I was Nashville’s first African American female co-anchor of the evening news. All this happened while I was nineteen years old and still a sophomore in college.

“Step Away from the Mean Girls…

…and say bye-bye to feeling bad about your looks.

Are you ready to stop colluding with a culture that makes so many of us feel physically inadequate? Say goodbye to your inner critic, and take this pledge to be kinder to yourself and others.

This is a call to arms, a call to be gentle, to be forgiving and to be generous with you. The next time you look into the mirror, try to let go of the story line that says you’re too fat or too shallow, too ashy or too old, your eyes are too small or your nose too big; just look into the mirror and see your face. When the criticism drops away, what you will see then is just you, without judgment, and that is the first step toward transforming your experience of the world.”

― Oprah Winfrey

I’ve been through emotional and physical abuse. This is why I think it’s important for me to talk about what I’ve stated above. It’s evident that young girls are being subjected to many forms of abuse these days. One of which is body shaming. Yes, today’s society talks so much about perfect bodies and attaining that heavenly state of happiness and health. But let me tell you this. That talk is all good for nothing nonsensical ideologies. Society has come to a point where they will even promote drugs on television. I know I might not be able to change the direction of the society now, but one day I will. I will keep telling all the girls and ladies that they are worth it and not weak and shallow.

Your big nose that you think is the ugliest part in your body is something you should celebrate. The belly rolls you have, the acne on the face, your height, your frizzy curly hair, your non-existent upper lip are things to celebrate. They aren’t ugly and unbearable to look at, they are what makes you; “YOU”. Who told you to label parts of your body and face as ugly unhealthy and unbearable to look at? The power to label and remove labels and empower yourself is within you.

The task of embracing yourself is not an easy task because the world has its standards. But do you know how many changes these standards have gone through and how many different ways people look at beauty in different parts of the world. If you feel unhealthy for reasons really concerning your health, then it’s time to work out and feel detoxed and refreshed. You shouldn’t do things in life to comply with standards which are nonsensical and which seem to cause so much of havoc, suicide, malnutrition and eating disorders.

Step Away from the Mean Girls…

…and say bye-bye to feeling bad about your looks. If someone thinks you are too fat, too skinny, and too tall or short get rid of them, because they aren’t worth your time. You need to keep a journal for yourself and write ten good things down every day about yourself before you go to sleep. Unfollow all those toxic adverts on the gram and Facebook. Live your life ladies, because it’s you who has to feel good about yourself. No one else.

It is important to see the beauty and value in you, to see a better part of this universe. We are a part of better things.

Spread girl love,
Oprah Winfrey

Leave a Reply

