A Letter to you from…

To sincere lovers,

“The moral of the story is, if your mom tells you to study hard, do it. You may just become a film star and your education will help you one helluva lot. But if your mother is insisting on anthropology or biochemistry or perhaps aromatic therapy, then ignore her.”

I was born on November 2nd 1965, New Delhi, India. Yes, yes, I know. I’m 51 years now. I maybe old, but I can still be the King of Romance, because love is never old. Talking about my younger days, I was pretty good in my studies and extra-curricular. Not that I would stay up every night to study and ace the exams, it was a simple way of not sleeping a wink day before the exam because I haven’t touched a book before that!

However I’ll tell you something interesting that I did once. I remember sitting on the wall and blowing flying kisses to schoolgirls passing by. Once a girl came complaining to my dad about this but he was sure that it could not be me as I was too young. He made the girl wait so that she could see me and realize that it was the neighbor’s son who was teasing her and not me. But to my father’s embarrassment I walked in without my pants on and on seeing the girl blew her a flying kiss and told my dad that this was my sweetheart. This was the first and last girl I ever made a pass to. I’m not the King of Romance for namesake! I had it in my genes.

My father died of cancer and my mom revived his business to take care of me and my elder sister. My mom passed away in 1990 for diabetes, and Lala my sister went in to depression. I did my bachelor degree in economics in Hansraj College, Delhi and while completing, I spent time with the Theatre Action Group (TAG) and learnt acting under Barry John. I did my masters in Mass Communication and joined Nationalschool of Drama to further my acting skills.

“I was a lower middle class boy from Delhi when I moved to Mumbai. I had 1500 in my pocket and wanted to become big enough to earn a lakh. I’ve slept on the roads. There have been times when we’ve been thrown out of the house because we couldn’t pay the rent”

You know guys what I want to tell you is that, life becomes hard in unthinkable ways. It’s different for each and every one of us. I went through my own bucket of grime. But it is courage and persistence that counts in the end.

I moved to Mumbai in hope of pursuing an acting career, with no money enough to survive. I made my TV series debut “Fauji” in 1998. “Deewana” starring Divya Bharti and Rishi Kapoor became my debut film and further I also earned my first Film fare award for best Male Debutant.

I married my first and final love Gauri Chibber in 1991. She is a Hindu, but I didn’t care. She was the most gorgeous woman for me and I loved who she was. We have three children; Aryan, Suhana, AbRam. They follow Islam and Hinduism both, because religions never teach wrong.

“My daughter asked me one day, she came back, and said teacher or somebody asked her if she was Hindu or Muslim, and I told her; say that you are Christian it’s absolutely alright.”

Few things I want to clarify; be true when you love someone, give her your word and be true to her. Love her dearly. “Sometimes a lot of us men think we are doing everything for the woman we love, but there is an aspect of a woman a man doesn’t understand.”

Religion helps you in all endeavours, be it Hinduism, Muslim, Christianity, Buddhism or even if you believe in some higher power, in the end it boils down to faith. What you believe in will always never let you down.

Forever yours,
Baadshah
Sharukh

Leave a Reply

